(A.T.S. Remembered)

The A.T.S. was organised in Command Units which consisted of Areas or Divisions with one or more Group Headquarters. The Groups consisted of between one and five Companies and each Company consisted of one or two Platoons. In the list given below you can see how each Command unit was made up:

Command Unit Area/Division Group
Southern Command Berkshire Reading, Windsor
  Cornwall Plymouth
  Devon Exeter
  Dorset Dorchester
  Hampshire Winchester, Portsmouth, Southampton
  Isle of Wight Isle of Wight
  Oxfordshire/Buckinghamshire Oxford
  Northamptonshire/Huntingdonshire Northampton
  Warwick Warwick, Birmingham
  Wiltshire Devizes, Trowbridge
  Worcester Worcester
  Somerset Taunton


The Commands were based on the structure of the Territorial Army Association and were Southern, Northern, Western, Eastern, Scottish and Northern Ireland District. The geographical bands went from top to bottom of the country and left to right, so the Western Command Unit covered Cheshire to Staffordshire, including Wales and, as you can see from the table, the Southern Command Warwickshire to Berkshire.

The following chart gives you an idea of how the Commands worked:

Within the structure of the A.T.S., Chief Controller was the Director and, although the technical proficiency of the troops remained the responsibility of the Directorate of Military Training she, and her Officers, were responsible for the morale, welfare, well-being , tone and public image of the A.T.S.

Back Home

BuzyBee Web Design